• Thu. Dec 8th, 2022

The snow presents a challenge, and Snow Camp provides the answer

ByDebra J. Aguilar

Oct 18, 2022

Long distance runners are used to competing in all weathers. The South Suburban competitors tested their readiness Friday in the conference championships.

The temperature was 38 degrees and it had snowed.

“Race day was unique,” ​​said Lakeville South coach Jason Just. “We had forecast cold weather, but the snow was unexpected. When we arrived at Eagan High School, snow was covering all the grass fields and the course. Wet. Cold. Fortunately, there was little wind .”

Just and the Cougars set up Snow Camp.

“We brought our team camp tents and set up a propane heater between two tents,” he said. “The temperature was ideal for the race. Only the wet feet were cold.”

Course conditions were tricky in some places.

“The hilly two-loop part of the course wasn’t too muddy,” Just said. “The parts of the course that had a side slope were the main slippery parts.”

Lakeville South sophomore Claire Vukovics was the girls’ medalist with a time of 19 minutes and 5.2 seconds over the 5k course. Prior Lake won the Tag Team Championship. On the boys side, senior Andrew Casey took first place in 16:05.3 to lead Lakeville North to the team title.

“Claire started with the lead pack and gradually took the lead about 800 meters from the start of the race and continued to lead the whole race,” Just said. “She ran hard through the middle and finished with a solid kick to win. Although the conditions didn’t allow for personal bests, the South Suburban Conference title is a huge achievement.”

inside the numbers

15:25.2: Winning time for Wayzata senior Hamza Mohamed during the Lake Conference 5K Boys Cross Country Race held at Gale Woods Farm. He is ranked No. 4 in Class 3A by the Coaches Association.

15:27.9: Winning time for Noah Breker senior of Armstrong during the Northwest Suburban Conference boys meet on a 5k course at Elk River Golf Course. Breker is ranked No. 1 in Class 3A.

15:39.8: Time saved for Belle Plaine senior Emmett Gerres in the Jordan Invitational 5K men’s cross country race. He is the No. 1 ranked runner in Class 2A.

15:47.4: Saving time for Adam Lueth Senior of Bloomington Jefferson in the Mankato East Invitational 5K Cross Country for Boys race at Benson Park. Lueth is ranked No. 7 in Class 3A.

15:53.7: Winning time for Annandale sophomore Salvador Wirth in the Princeton Invitational 5K men’s cross country race. It is ranked No. 3 in Class 2A.

16:51.95: Winning time for Wayzata senior Abbey Nechanicky during the Lake Conference 5K Women’s Cross Country Race at Gale Woods Farm. She broke the course record set by Emily Covert of Minneapolis Washburn in 2019 and became only the second Minnesota girl to run two races under 17 minutes. Nechanicky is the highest ranked racer in class 3A.

18:12.9: Winning time for Megan Lee senior of Bloomington Jefferson in the Mankato East Invitational 5K women’s cross country race. She is ranked third in class 3A.

18:36.0: Winning time for Forest Lake sophomore Norah Hushagen in the Princeton Invitational 5K women’s cross country race. Hushagen is ranked No. 4 in Class 3A.


By Minnesota Cross Country Coaches Association


Class 3A

Teams: 1. Wayzata; 2. North Lakeville; 3. Rosemont; 4. Minnetonka; 5. Calm water; 6. Minneapolis Washburn; 7. View of the mounds; 8. Southwest Minneapolis; 9. Eden Prairie; 10. BloomingtonJefferson.

Individuals: 1. Noah Breker, Armstrong; 2. Aidan Jones, Minneapolis Washburn; 3. Sam Scott, Southwest Minneapolis; 4. Hamza Mohamed, Wayzata; 5. Andrew Casey, North Lakeville; 6. Nick Gilles, Minnetonka; 7. Adam Lueth, BloomingtonJefferson; 8. Nolan Sutter, Chaska; 9. Elliot MacArthur, View of the Mounds; 10. Daniel McColler, Wayzata.

Class 2A

Teams: 1. Big Lake; 2. Mankato East; 3. Monticello; 4. Rocky ridge; 5. St. Paul Highland Park; 6. Belle Plain; 7. Delano; 8. Orono; 9. Marshal; 10. Becker.

Individuals: 1. Emmett Gerres, Belle Plaine; 2. Sal Wirth, Annandale; 3.Sully Anez, Willmar; 4. Owen Layton, Great Lake; 5. Noah Mahoney, Monticello; 6. Kade Layton, Great Lake; 7.Alden Keller, Breck; 8. Cameron Stocke, Rock Ridge; 9. Harris Gulbransen, Breck; 10. Soren Bortnem, Dassel-Cokato.

Class 1A

Teams: 1. Christian Heritage; 2.Perham; 3. Saint Cloud Cathedral; 4. Minnehaha Academy; 5. Park Rapids Area; 6. Valley of the Redwoods; 7. Luvern; 8. Staples-Motley; 9. Classic Nova; 10. Winona Cotter.

Individuals: 1. Henry Karelitz, Nova Classical; 2. Brandon Kampsen, Sauk Center; 3. Bjorn Anderson, Perham; 4. Noah Foster, Cromwell-Wright; 5. Will Ahrens, Redwood Valley; 6. Owen Janiszeski, Luverne; 7. Cole Stencel, Maple River; 8.Josiah DeMaris, Madelia; 9. Brad Rach, Bertha-Hewitt; 10. Hubka Garrison, Kingsland.


Class 3A

Teams: 1. Wayzata; 2. Minnetonka; 3. Anterior lake; 4. (tie) Edina and Farmington; 6.Hopkins; 7. Centenary; 8. (tied) Eastview and St. Michael-Albertville; 10. View of the mounds.

Individuals: 1. Nechanicky Abbey, Wayzata; 2. Sydney Drevlow, Hopkins; 3. Megan Lee, BloomingtonJefferson; 4. Norah Hushagen, Forest Lake; 5. Marissa Long, Chanhassen; 6. Evie Malec, Minnetonka; 7. Maya Mor, Minnetonka; 8. Teegan Anderson, Wayzata; 9. (tie) Grace Migone, Wayzata and Claire Vukovics, Lakeville South.

Class 2A

Teams: 1. St. Paul Highland Park; 2. Marshal; 3. Becker; 4. Alexandria; 5. Monticello; 6. Willmar; 7. Small falls; 8. West Mankato; 9. Rocoris; 10. Hibernate.

Individuals: 1. Luna Scorzelli, St. Paul Highland Park; 2.Isabelle Schmitz, Hutchinson; 3. Macy Hanson, Fairmont; 4. Natasha Sortland, Zumbrota-Mazeppa/Kenyon-Wanamingo; 5. Calia Chaney, Pequot Lakes; 6. Kendra Krueger, Jordan; 7.Isabel Mahoney, Monticello; 8. Delia Johnson, St. Paul Highland Park; 9. Hailee Zimpel, Zimmerman; 10. Allyson Sample, Marshall.

Class 1A

Teams: 1. Staples-Motley; 2.Perham; 3. Saint Cloud Cathedral; 4. Murray/Fulda County Center; 5. Lucerne; 6.Lake City; 7.Winona Cotter; 8. Wadena-Deer Creek; 9. Rochester Lourdes; 10. Pierz.

Individuals: 1. Amanda Overgaauw, Murray County Central/Fulda; 2. Jade Rypkema, Nevis; 3. Ashley Overgaauw, Murray/Fulda County Center; 4. Jenna Debates, Luverne; 5. Kyanna Burton, Staples-Motley; 6. Kaylee Walkin, Windom area; 7. Caroline Kuehne, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle; 8. Addison Roof, Lester Prairie; 9. Audrey Brownell, Staples-Motley; 10. Sonja Semling, Winona Cotter.